ruencn

Olkhon Island

Resorting to poetic images, we can say that the Baikal is a blue heart of Siberia and Olkhon is a heart of Lake Baikal. The island is the geographical, historical and sacred center of the lake - the center of ancient legends and historical traditions. It involves poetic legend about the origin of the Buryat people, according to which the hunter Horidoy married here a celestial swan-maiden, and they got eleven sons, and then became the ancestors of eleven Horinsk delivery.

For the Buryat people Olkhon Island is the geographical center of the Buryat ethnic territory, sacred center of the main Buryat values. Olkhon Island, protected from intruders by cold waters of Lake Baikal, longer than any other places, preserved traditional worldview of Buryats and many of the customs of antiquity. Here, according to tradition, the first Buryat shaman received a shaman gift. In Buryat myths and legends, Olkhon is called as an abode of menacing spirits of Baikal. Here, according to legend, came down from heaven, the chief of the Khans, Haan-Khute-baabay, sent to Earth by the highest gods. Here lives the image of the eagle, his son by the name of Han Shubuu Noyon, who first received the shaman gift from Tengri.

Olkhon Island, considered sacred center of northern shaman peace, ran Mongolian shamans during their pursuit by lamas in the era of Genghis Khan. Because of its isolation Olkhon Island was the last stronghold of the shamans of North Asia.

How to get?

  • In summer there are 2 public buses per day, at 8 am and 10 am, from the Central bus station. There are also some mini-buses during the day.
  • In winter there is only 1 mini-bus at 10 am from the bus station.

Proximate sights

Proximate restaurants

Cafe "Kayuta Kapitana" ("Captain's cabin")
Category: Cafe
distance 0.1 km
Cafe "Kudesnitsa"
Category: Cafe
distance 0.4 km

Proximate events

Ближайшая информация

ruencn

Ольхон

Прибегнув к поэтическим образам, можно сказать, что Байкал - это голубое сердце Сибири, а Ольхон - сердце Байкала. Остров является географическим, историческим и сакральным центром озера - средоточие древних легенд и исторических преданий. С ним связана поэтическая легенда о происхождении бурятского народа, согласно которой здесь охотник Хоридой женился на небесной деве-лебеди, и у них родились одиннадцать сыновей, затем ставших родоначальниками одиннадцати хоринских родов.

Для бурятского народа остров Ольхон - это географический центр этнической территории бурят, сакральный центр общебурятского значения. Остров Ольхон, защищенный от непрошеных гостей студеными водами Байкала, дольше других мест сохранял традиционное мировоззрение бурят и многие обычаи бурятской старины. Здесь, по преданию, получил шаманский дар первый бурятский шаман. В мифах и легендах бурят Ольхон называют обиталищем грозных духов Байкала. Сюда, по преданиям, спустился с неба главный из ханов - Хаан-Хутэ-баабай, посланный на Землю высшими богами. Здесь живет в образе белоголового орла-беркута его сын по имени Хан Шубуу нойон, который первым получил шаманский дар от тэнгриев.

На остров Ольхон, считавшийся сакральным центром северного шаманского мира, сбегали монгольские шаманы во время преследования их ламами в эпоху Чингисхана. В силу своей изолированности остров Ольхон стал последним оплотом шаманов Северной Азии.

Как добраться?

Летом каждый день из Иркутска до поселка Хужир на острове Ольхон ходит рейсовый автобус через паромную переправу. Отправление ежедневно в 8-00 и 10-00 с автовокзала в Иркутске

Ближайшие достопримечательности

Ближайшие рестораны

"Каюта капитана", кафе
Категория: Кафе
расстояние 0.1 км
"Кудесница", кафе
Категория: Кафе
расстояние 0.4 км

Ближайшие события

Ближайшая информация