ruencn

Znamensky Monastery (The Church of the Holy Sign Painter)

The monastery was founded in 1689 on the right bank of the Angara river. The first buildings were made of wood, and in 1727 Znamensky Monastery came into disrepair. In 1762 it was rebuilt into a stone building. Chapels and other facilities were completed for several years.

On the night of 6 to 7 February 1920 in the vicinity of the monastery was shot a supreme ruler of Russia Alexander Kolchak and chairman of the Council of Ministers Viktor Pepeliaev. With the arrival in Irkutsk of Authorities of the Council, at the disposal of the local diocese remains only the church building, and the monastery is closed. In religious premises are located gidroaviators departments: at the mouth of Ushakovka river since 1928 it is located Irkutsk hydroport.

In 1926, the church became a parish, and from 1929 began to serve as the cathedral, because the Epiphany Cathedral was completely closed for religion, and the Kazan Cathedral was demolished. Seven years later Znamensky temple was closed again, in its buildings were placed aircraft repair shops and garages.

Since the beginning of the war the Irkutsk hydro-stop passenger services, pilots and planes were mobilized. In the monastery there were remained only seaplanes NKPS that catered to Baikal-Amur Railway (BAM). Znamenskaya church was returned to the diocese in 1945. In 1948 it received again the status of a cathedral. In 1953, the seaplane base NKPS was closed.

Since 1991, the relics of St. Innocent Kulchytskyy are located in this church, and on August 27, 1994 in the monastery was revived rite of monastic vows. Currently, the monastery is the diocesan administration of Irkutsk archdiocese.

14, Angarskaya st.

MON - SUN

06:00 - 20:00

+7 (3952) 77-84-81

Useful information

Inside the church: you can not speak in a loud voice, can not keep your hands in your pockets, can’t chew a gum. You should not walk around the church unnecessarily. Discussions in the church need to be as quiet as possible. When coming to the church with children, you must not let them run around and play pranks. You can not smoke on the porch. You can not enter the church with the animals.

Proximate sights

Monument to Alexander Kolchak
Category: Monuments
distance 0.1 km
Synagogue
Category: Churches
distance 1.6 km

Proximate restaurants

«Razguloff», cafe
Category: Cafe
distance 1.3 km
"Stariy Munkhen (Old Munich)", restaurant
Category: Restaurans
distance 1.3 km

Proximate events

Irkutsk summer 2015.
distance 0.7 km
Dolphins Show
distance 0.8 km

Ближайшая информация

ruencn

Знаменский монастырь

Монастырь основан в 1689 году на правом берегу Ангары. Первые постройки были деревянными, и к 1727 году срубленная в 1693 году Соборная Знаменская церковь пришла в ветхость. В 1762 году было отстроено каменное здание монастыря. Приделы и прочие объекты достраивались в течение нескольких лет.

В ночь с 6 на 7 февраля 1920 года в непосредственной близости монастыря были расстреляны Верховный правитель России Александр Колчак и председатель Совета министров Виктор Пепеляев. С приходом в Иркутск Власти Советов, в распоряжении местной епархии остаётся только здание церкви, а монастырь закрывается. В религиозных помещениях размещают отделы гидроавиаторов: в устье Ушаковки с 1928 года располагается иркутский гидропорт.

В 1926 году Знаменский храм стал приходским, а с 1929-го начал выполнять функции кафедрального собора, так как Собор Богоявления был полностью закрыт для религии, а Казанский кафедральный собор и вовсе снесён. Спустя семь лет Знаменский храм вновь закрывают, в его зданиях размещаются авиаремонтные мастерские и гаражи.

С началом войны иркутский гидропорт прекратил пассажирские перевозки, лётчики и самолёты были мобилизованы. У монастыря остались только гидросамолёты НКПС, которые обслуживали БАМ. Знаменская церковь была возвращена епархии в 1945 году. В 1948-м ей был возвращён и статус кафедрального собора. В 1953 году база гидросамолётов НКПС была закрыта.

С 1991 года в Знаменской церкви вновь покоятся мощи святителя Иннокентия Кульчицкого, а 27 августа 1994 года в монастыре был возрождён чин монашеского пострига. В настоящее время, на территории монастыря находится епархиальное управление Иркутской митрополии.

ул. Ангарская, 14

ПН - ВС

06:00 - 20:00

+7 (3952) 77-84-81

Полезная информация

В храме нельзя говорить громким голосом, держать руки в карманах, жевать резинку. Без нужды не следует ходить по храму. Разговоры в храме нужно ограничить до предела. Придя в храм с детьми, нужно стараться не позволять им бегать и шалить. На церковной паперти нельзя курить. Нельзя входить в храм с животными.

Ближайшие достопримечательности

Памятник Адмиралу Колчаку
Категория: Памятники
расстояние 0.1 км
Синагога
Категория: Церкви
расстояние 1.6 км

Ближайшие рестораны

"Разгулoff", кафе
Категория: Кафе
расстояние 1.3 км
"Старый Мюнхен", ресторан
Категория: Рестораны
расстояние 1.3 км

Ближайшие события

Иркутский велозаезд 2015
расстояние 0.7 км

Ближайшая информация