ruencn

Port Baikal

Port Baikal is located on the left bank of the Angara source, at the foot of the Baranchik Cape. The settlement is the end of the Circum-Baikal Railway.

Port Baikal is the original settlement, it is located on the shore of Lake Baikal, and on the bank of the Angara river. All buildings fit in a narrow strip along the coast railway, which, in fact, is the main street of the village.

The earliest known history of human settlement on the territory of Port Baikal belong to the time when this territory lived Evenki. There are two of their seasonal fishing parking in front of the source of the Angara. The village itself has its origins in the first half of the 20th century, when the construction of the Trans-Siberian Irkutsk Baikal reached out, and there was an urgent need for a major transshipment base from rail to water. From here, trains, cargo and passengers were transported to the other side by the icebreaking ferry. After the dam was built (Irkutsk hydroelectric station) and flooded railway branch Irkutsk - Port Baikal, the village has remained a dead-end of the Circum Baikal Railway.

In summer Port Baikal is visited by many tourists. The village has several shops, cafes, there are pensions and guest houses. Some locals rent rooms in summer. The attractions of Port Baikal are the Angara River source and the famous Shaman Rock, Museum of Circum-Baikal railway in the station building, Transfiguration Church.

Useful information

Reliable ferries from Listvyanka to Port Baikal can be found on the website of the East Siberian River Shipping Company. Train schedule from Irkutsk and Slyudyanka to Port Baikal can be found on the website of Russian Railways, RZD (train "Motanya") or on the website of Krugobaikalsky Express.

Proximate sights

Baikal Limnological Museum
Category: Museums
distance 2.0 km
Ice-breaker "Angara"
Category: Museums
distance 52.6 km

Proximate restaurants

Listvyanka Club Grill & Restaurant
Category: Restaurans
distance 4.3 km
Restaurant "Sval"
Category: Restaurans
distance 4.4 km

Proximate events

Ближайшая информация

ruencn

Порт Байкал

Порт Байкал находится на левом берегу истока Ангары, у подножия мыса Баранчик. Поселок является конечным пунктом Кругобайкальской железной дороги.

Порт Байкал – своеобразный поселок, он выходит как на берег Байкала, так и на берег Ангары. Все здания умещаются на узкой полосе берега вдоль железной дороги, которая, по сути, является центральной улицей поселка.

Древнейшие известные истории человеческие поселения на территории Порта Байкал относятся ко времени, когда на этой территории жили эвенки. Известны две их сезонные промысловые стоянки напротив истока Ангары. Сам поселок берет свое начало в первой половине 20 века, когда строящийся Транссиб от Иркутска дотянулся до Байкала, и возникла острая потребность в крупной перевалочной базе с железнодорожного транспорта на водный. Отсюда поезда, грузы и пассажиры переправлялись на другой берег паромами-ледоколами. После того, как была построена плотина Иркутской ГЭС и затоплена ветка железной дороги Иркутск – Порт Байкал, поселок остался тупиковой веткой КБЖД.

Летом порт Байкал посещает большое количество туристов. В поселке есть несколько магазинов, кафе, есть пансионаты и гостевые дома. Некоторые местные жители сдают летом комнаты. К достопримечательностям Порта Байкал относят исток Ангары и знаменитый Шаман-камень, музей Кругобайкальской железной дороги в здании вокзала, храм Преображения Господня.

Полезная информация

Расписание парома, курсирующего от Листвянки до порта Байкал можно узнать на сайте Восточно-Сибирского речного пароходства. Расписание поезда от Иркутска или Слюдянки можно узнать на сайте РЖД (поезд "Мотаня") или Кругобайкальский Экспресс.

Ближайшие достопримечательности

Шаман-камень
расстояние 1.3 км

Ближайшие рестораны

"Листвянка Клуб Гриль & Ресторан", ресторан
Категория: Рестораны
расстояние 4.3 км
"Свалъ", ресторан
Категория: Рестораны
расстояние 4.4 км

Ближайшие события

Ближайшая информация